NYC Government is known for its highly centralized governmental structure. Much like the Federal Government, it is divided into three branches: executive, legislative and judicial. The Mayor heads the Executive branch and is responsible for all city services, enforcement of city and state laws. The City Council is the Legislative branch and is responsible for proposing and revising bills. The Council is comprised of 51 elected officials, representing different districts within the five boroughs of NYC. The Judicial Branch is made up of the various Court systems present in all five boroughs.

Below is a comprehensive chart that outlines the breakdown of the NYC governmental structure.